I’ll Think of a Title for This Later

Antonio Arredondo
3 min readSep 26, 2020

--

My sophomore year of college, I had to write an eight page paper about Hannah Arendt’s book The Origins of Totalitarianism and its concept of statelessness. It was even more boring than it sounded. It was so boring, in fact, that I put it off. Terribly. With 22 hours left until this behemoth of a paper was due, I had absolutely nothing on my Google Doc.

I typed for so long on my paper I thought my arms stopped working. Finally, at 3:48 AM, it was finished. I read over it in the morning, noticing one thing: the farther it got into the paper, the more unstable my writing became. I turned it in. I got a 92%.

You see, the problem with procrastinating is that it hasn’t come back to bite me yet. No matter how long I wait on a project, I can at least do somewhat decent on it. And it’s not like I’m super, Megamind-level genius either. I know a lot of people that really struggle with procrastinating a lot, and they all have good grades as well.

I keep waiting for the day that it gets to be too much, the day I realize I need to change. Yet here I am every Friday, writing my blog posts and comments at the last minute. That’s not to say that I don’t put in effort. I try as hard as I can for those four hours that I work on my project. But sometimes, I wonder what it would be like for me to put in effort over the course of the last few weeks.

One of my best friends, Cade, is a great example of how simple it can be to procrastinate on things. The man fell asleep during his SAT test. Seriously. Just decided that he needed a break on the math section, wanted to take a little nap, and boom: he only missed one question on the entire math section. Ridiculous. Cade might be the smartest idiot I know and he procrastinates just as much, if not more, than I do.

My future has already been set and determined by fate, I’ve decided. At this rate, I will become vice-president of the country (Cade will be president). We will both have no idea what we’re doing, we both keep telling everyone we’ll have answers tomorrow for all of the country’s problems. We won’t.

I really wish at the end of this I had a solution for what to do, how to solve my problem. But I don’t. This post is more just me opening up to everyone and admitting I’m a terrible procrastinator. Every year I think, “New year, new Antonio.” And even in the midst of a pandemic when I had nothing better to do, I sat and played 2k, watched New Girl, and did ANYTHING but work on the assignment I had due in less than two days.

If you have any advice for how to solve my procrastinating, please let me know what to do. I will definitely read what you send me, think it’s a great idea, say I’m going to do it, but actually put it to use. I’ll probably just do it later. I do know that I plan on editing this paper tomorrow, so I’ll know to get a cohesive, well-edited blog post up and make sure to take out this unfinished sente

--

--