I Used to Have a Blog Back in the Day

Antonio Arredondo
2 min readAug 29, 2020

--

Sophomore year, to be exact. Of high school. The blog name? The Arreman. Clever twist on “airman” and “Arredondo” if you ask me. Naturally, the blog wa about sports. I decided to dive into the own sports writing world and start talking about the issues that really mattered: Blazer games, NBA playoff predictions, summaries of games. I had a lot of fun doing it. I went back to look at the work that I had done, and I was impressed by how good it was and how accurate my predictions ended up being.

There was one small problem that did hamper my joy in the blog: nobody read it. I had started off strong, getting 186 views on my “College Football Bowl Summary” article after I had had my friend plug it on their socials. I was ecstatic, but it was the high water mark for me. The views slipped from 186 to 136 to 76, and eventually down to 6. After working on the blog for 3 months, I posted my final addition to The Arreman, looking at why the Blazers had cut big man Anderson Varejao. I got 2 views. 1 from me, 1 from my mom when she proofread it. I knew that it was time to call it. I never wrote a blog post again.

Well, here I am. About 5 years later, a little bit taller, and somehow less mature, I’m ready to come back. And even if it’s for a class assignment, I’m really excited to get back into the blogging world. Sports have changed, the world has changed, I have changed since the last time I wrote on a blog. So what should you expect from the new and improved Antonio?

Sports. Mostly sports. It will be similar to what I wrote in the past, but also with added enhancements. I will write on past and future topics, not just present day. I will sometimes write humorous stories, that can also be about sports. It’s my blog, so really, I’m going to do whatever I feel like doing. I know that I don’t care about the views, I have enough of those on TikTok (Follow @tuwanrovio for more balloon content). Maybe I’ll write about that one day. I’m not 100% sure who will be reading, but there’s one thing I know: It’s gonna be a hell of a ride, and I’m gonna enjoy every second of it. Antonio out

--

--