The Ideas Not Good Enough For a Full Story

Antonio Arredondo
3 min readOct 3, 2020

--

I really struggled with writer’s block for this blog post. I sat in front of my computer after procrastinating once again (I obviously didn’t learn from my last one)and stared. I stared right at the screen with absolutely no way of finishing the blog post before the NBA Finals starred. I had been hit with writer’s block. And it sucked. I kept starting a project and then decided that I didn’t really like where it was going, so I stopped writing it. Right when I was about to give up, I came up with a genius idea. I would write about the failed ideas,

So, without further ado, here is the ideas that I had written a bit about before I ditched them for good. I’ll rate them on a scale of 1–10 on how good they would function, and I’ll probably write about one of them later. But for now, they’ve been banished to the Island of Bad Ideas. Well, let’s get going.

The Day My Mom Ran Over My Dog

Very catchy headline, and a story I think I’ll come back to later. Sorry for bringing this up Mom, but this was genuinely one of the craziest days in my life. Crazier than anything in 2020. My dog Cora was only 1, and I was at school unaware what happened until I got home. The fun part is that I had just asked Mya Pottratz to be my first girlfriend that day.

This is a good idea, but I just was not able to put it into words without getting frustrated. I couldn’t make enough jokes that I liked. I’ll likely write this another time for a blog post. Overall Rating: 9/10.

The Last Day of Normal

I went to the last Blazers game where they allowed fans, two days before school went all online. My last story might have been crazy, but this day is just surreal to look back on. I went with two of my friends and my brother to watch the Blazers take on the Suns. What’s so weird is our conversations in the car. We talked about how it was dumb there were no fans at March Madness, that everyone was overreacting and that we would be fine in a couple weeks. We were not right.

I do like the idea of this one, but it veers more into political jokes and other things of that nature, something I don’t love talking about as its a touchy subject for many people (If you notice, I always make fun of both sides). I don’t know if I’ll return to this. Overall Rating: 6/10.

Ranking the Names of Random Roads

This is a fun idea as an idea only. I though it would be great fun to rank the road names in the area and make fun of them. First Street? 0/10. College Street? -8/10. Classic Comedy. When I got to writing it though, I found that it was a one trick pony; fit was funny at first, but got old really quick.

I might bring back the idea of ranking random things, but it won’t be road names. Far too niche a subject anyways. Overall Rating: 2/10.

The Ideas Not Good Enough For a Full Story

I actually ended up using this one. Overall Rating: 0/10

--

--